Orleans Parish School Board Honors Top Teachers at New Orleans Excellence in Teaching Award Breakfast

May 21, 2019

NEW ORLEANS – (May 21, 2019) Today, the Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB), in partnership with the College Football Foundation and other educational partners, honored the seven New Orleans public school teachers that won the 2019 New Orleans Excellence in Teaching Award (NOETA) during a breakfast at the Audubon Tea Room. Each winner was presented with a check for $2,000, a proclamation from the City and a plaque of appreciation.

The following teachers were winners of the 2019 NOETA Award:

  • Ashlee Bush Davis – Delores T. Aaron Charter School
  • Rachel Frazier – Lake Forest Charter School
  • Ashleigh Milligan Grandpre – P.A. Capdau Charter School
  • Temple Gowan – The Net Central City
  • Victor Jones – George Washington Carver High School
  • Jessica Lozano – Mary McLeod Bethune Charter School
  • Jennifer Molina – Warren Easton Charter High School

The NOETA Award was created in 2015 by New Schools for New Orleans. In the fall of 2018, the OPSB took over the planning and execution program to help honor more outstanding public school teachers throughout all of our public schools in New Orleans. School leaders, teachers, coaches and other academic or cultural leaders at any New Orleans area public school or network were eligible to nominate exceptional teaches for this citywide award.


About OPSB: The OPSB currently oversees 78 public schools, including 75 charter schools, three direct-operated schools and a school with two educational programs for students in secure-care facilities. On July 1, all New Orleans public schools were unified under the oversight of the locally-elected Orleans Parish School Board for the first time since Hurricane Katrina. Learn more about Unification here. For more information, visit www.opsb.us. For updates, follow OPSB on Facebook, Instagram @orleansparishschoolboard and Twitter @_OPSB.

About the College Football Playoff Foundation and Extra Yard for Teachers:

The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the College Football Playoff, supporting education across the country. The CFP Foundation’s primary cause platform, Extra Yard for Teachers, is dedicated to elevating the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering teachers in four focus areas: resources, recognition, recruitment and professional development. The CFP Foundation utilizes multiple partnerships to execute its initiatives and support positive educational outcomes. To learn more, visit www.cfp-foundation.org and follow Extra Yard for Teachers (@CFPExtraYard) on social media.

Translate »