Louisiana High School Athletic Association Announces Changes to Athletic Attendance Zones for Public & Private School Students

July 3, 2019

NEW ORLEANS – (July 03, 2019) – In June, the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) approved a proposal establishing four athletic zones for high school students based on their residence impacting freshmen and transferring students only.

Impacted student athletes residing in certain zip codes are only eligible to participate in athletics at the respective schools within the athletic attendance zone. For example, a student athlete that resides in 70127 will be eligible to participate in varsity athletics at Carver, Einstein, Livingston Prep, Sci Academy, St. Mary’s, KIPP Renaissance and Martin Luther King High School.

The new athletic zones will be in effect for the 2019-2020 school year and will only impact 9th grade and transfer students for the upcoming school year and thereafter. All 10th-11th grade student athletes that return to their school will be eligible regardless of their residence. Additionally, 9th grade and transfer students will be eligible to play junior varsity sports if they reside outside of the approved athletic attendance zone.

The new athletic zones are as follows:


70127 Carver
70129 Einstein Charter
70126 Livingston Prep
70128 Sci Academy, St. Mary’s
70117 KIPP Renaissance, Martin Luther King High School



70122 Ben Franklin
70124 Brother Martin
70148 Holy Cross, John F. Kennedy at Lake Area, McDonogh 35, Mount Carmel Academy




70114 Edna Karr
70131 Landry Walker, New Orleans Military



70115 Cohen
70125 De La Salle, Lusher Charter, McMain, Newman, Sacred Heart, Sophie B. Wright, St. Katharine Drexel
70130 International School
70112 KIPP Booker T. Washington
70113 Louise McGehee
70116 Morris Jeff
70119 Cabrini
70118 Dominican, Jesuit, St. Augustine, Ursuline, Warren Easton


Click here for a map including the changes to the athletic attendance zones. 


ABOUT OPSB: The OPSB currently oversees 78 public schools, including 75 charter schools, three direct-operated schools and a school with two educational programs for students in secure-care facilities. On July 1, 2018, all New Orleans public schools were unified under the oversight of the locally-elected Orleans Parish School Board for the first time since Hurricane Katrina. Learn more about Unification here.

For more information, visit www.opsb.us. For updates, follow OPSB on Facebook, Instagram @orleansparishschoolboard and Twitter @_OPSB.


Translate »